top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Lee

The worst place to be a pilot? The best place to be a pilot!

Updated: Oct 14, 2018

The first landing into a Papuan village, I wasn't sure what to expect. I had heard stories of cannibals, pigs and penis gourds. Turning onto final approach into Bugalaga airstrip, I couldn't believe we were going to be landing there! I don't know if we can call this an airstrip, because it looked like we were going to land on the side of the mountain.

This is how it looked like.. at least by the book. It's 5700 feet at the Touch down zone, then it goes up to 5900 feet. To "climb" the last bit of "airstrip" which is 24% of slope, the plane needs a fair bit of power, otherwise the plane will stop and roll backwards. The ground crew don't like a plane going to this airstrip because the plane gets dirty from the mud!

Welcome to Susi Air

Where the 24% slope starts!

At the touch down zone! 5700 feet!

I was the who was shy!

A man dressed in a Koteka (a penis gourd). The length of the koteka indicates a man's rank and influence.

Do you want to be a celebrity? Just come to this village

I believe that only a select few people can experience this part of the world. I am blessed and privileged to be part of the select few. It definitely has opened my eyes and heart to the people in Papua, and changed my attitude and gratitude towards the life that I have here.

I love Papua more than yesterday!

294 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page