top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Lee

My new playground [Papua New Guinea]

Happy New Year, neighbours!


It’s been more than a year since my last post! Hope you guys are doing absolutely fantastic and healthy.


So, here are some updates from FlylikeSamantha.


First of all, I got a new job in June 2019 flying Twin Otter in beautiful lands of Papua New Guinea. (There are huge differences between West Papua and Papua New Guinea although they are very close to each other.)


The flying has been great. Lots of new things, new cultures, new language, new company, and new people to learn and meet. I love it.


Twin Otter is such a beautiful plane, it flies really well, it's more powerful than the Caravan (the one I used to fly), and safe. Our training captains are a bunch of legends. My initial training and ongoing training has been tough and it's the way it should be. I am so Blessed to have such training in my bush pilot journey.


Second of all, I started a new Master degree. My new job is a FIFO pilot. I get 6 months off a year (Yay! and still get paid!) and I was searching to find something valuable for my personal development and I think I chose the right thing to do by starting a further degree. It's an online course from the same university that I went for my Bachelor degree. I elected to do one subject in one semester in order to focus on flying as well as studying.


Thirdly, I've reached my 2,000 flying hours!

It might mean not much for those who fly big planes internationally, but for bush pilots, every bead of sweat counts. every 0.1 hours in 35 degrees counts! So... I am very proud of myself surviving 2,000 hours in the bush!


Here are some photos that I would like to share with you about flying in Papua New Guinea! Hope you enjoyyyyy










one of many hot days in the sun...

VOGUE style....?


I may get lots of attentions in the wild... most of times

360 views0 comments
bottom of page