top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Lee

Thank you Papua for being so good to me, hopefully see you again soon!

Updated: Jul 12, 2019





This is it. This is the end of my story in Papua, Indonesia. I have met so many wonderful people, made lifelong friends and worked with thoughtful and caring people.

I am blessed to be where I am right now. If I had a second choice to go to Papua and work for Susi again, I would definitely say


“Yes, times 100”


The opportunity was priceless. It really opened my eyes to see the world, and more importantly, I know I am an awesome chick pilot who has the biggest heart for the people and lives out there. I am very proud of myself. There were ups and downs but, I am strong and never give up.



West Papua, THANK YOU


God for keeping me safe and guiding me the whole time in Papua.


For helping me realise how I am wonderfully and uniquely made.


For giving me one amazing year. These memories will be forever cherished with all my heart.


For giving me challenges in order to make me a better person.


Mother nature for showing me how beautiful you are.


Papua food and water for not making me sick every month anymore. I am very immunised to any virus now! haha


Koteka men for passing Samantha’s trustworthy test by not carrying phones with a tinder app. You guys passed!


Whale sharks for swimming with me in the middle of ocean and for making me realise how nature is beautifully ordered.


All the missionaries out there who are working so hard to help and make jungle communities educated so that they can read and think.




Russell and Mark for being true friends/ flying partners/ stupid world travellers, and giving me hugs when I am not encouraged. (Best people on earth)


JP for being an awesome boss and taught me so many things, especially how to be a better pilot in mountain flying.


Corne for praying with me and being a spiritual leader in the company.


Joao for having lame jokes when he gets drunk and taking care of pilots on base.


DP for not killing us on your tiny winy boat in the middle of storm.


Divan for giving me advice when it was needed.


Angela and Stefano for being amazing trouble makers.


Riza for helping me with police check and bank issues when my money was stolen. (Congratulations on your upcoming wedding mate!)


Kyle for being a weird robot dancer and making breakfast for everyone on Sunday mornings.


John Cutts who is a second generation missionary, opened his house for tea and coffee on top of mountain.


Susi Air for being a good company to work for!





For whom wondering what my next step is,

I am moving to Papua New Guinea, just across the border! I got a new job with a company called Hevilift flying TWIN OTTER (bigger and more complicated airplane, but no toilet in the plane, still! ) in the most dangerous place in the world, PNG.

I am excited but yet, I don’t know what to expect to see and feel. I guess It was just like when I came to Papua!



Stay tuned for more exciting stories.

Lastly, Thank you for awesome readers in the world.




642 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page